on being a vegetarian on yontov

by anzya

I left the vegetarian fold a number of years ago. But, I stuck it out for close to ten years, enduring the taunts of family members, friends’ parents and the like, with their: “you’ll stunt your growth”, “you’ll hurt your bubba’s feelings”, “what’s the matter with you?” etc… So, for those vegetarians out there, I both admire and feel for you. And triple that sentiment for all you vegans.

With this in mind, I thought I’d share a recipe that I’m planning on making for yontov this weekend for all you vegoes and vego-friendlies out there. This was given to me by a fabulous cook in the family so I can pretty much guarantee its goodness. It’s also pretty simple (warning to those in under-equipped student kitchens: you do need a food processor, though). It also might be funny to try and trick your veg-phobic family members with this (mu ha ha).

Fake Chopped Chicken Liver, or “F’liver”

Ingredients:

200g walnuts

2 large onions, sliced

2 tablespoons oil

4 hard boiled eggs

1 x 220g tin peas

Method:

Grind walnuts in food processor (essential to avoid lumpy pate later). Fry the onions in oil until they are just browning. Add onions with the oil, eggs and peas to the ground walnuts and process until you have a smooth paste. Add salt to taste. Enjoy!

