A father’s cry broadcasted…

by tobybee

I’ve been reading Dr Izzeldin Abuelaish’s book, I Shall Not Hate: A Gaza Doctor’s Journey on the Road to Peace and Human Dignity, which is a truly breathtaking, tragic, challenging, infuriating, and affirming read. And yesterday I came to the awful section of the book where he describes the bombing of his house in Gaza by the Israeli military; a bombing which killed three of his daughters, Bessan, Mayar and Aya, and his niece, Noor, and critically physically injured his daughter Shatha and niece Ghaida. I’d read numerous times, and in numerous places, that after the bombs fell Abuelaish called Israeli journalist Shlomi Eldar, who was live on television, to tell him what had happened and cried for help. But I’d never seen the footage before, and I imagine there are others of you who haven’t either, so here it is:

You should also have a look at the new foundation that he set up in memory of his daughters and niece, Daughters for Life.
And on the second anniversary of the bombing there were numerous pieces in the news, including this one in the Guardian, and this interview on Democracy Now!

